Hideous and Perfect
September 9th, 2009

>> Purchasing Information
>> More Information
>> Listen to previews

"From start to finish Hideous and Perfect is a smartly written powerhouse of an album, magnificently improving on Angelspit's previous work while maintaining the band's distinct sound and feel."
- Trubie Turner, ReGen magazine

"When you couple this with the themes thrust out by the twelve tracks of deviousness on offer...you can see that this is not only some kind of a concept album (perhaps, without intent) but also something that has the capability to hit home, hit hard, and hit with stealth. The band's audience will happily 'eat distortion'."
- Sphere Magazine

"...the more you walk through their sonic universe the more you are convinced that they perfectly know what they're doing. This album sounds like a big kick in your ass or Mike Tyson hitting you right in the face! It's hard and merciless, cold and powerful or yet wild and kinky! With songs like "Making Money", "Sleep Now", "Channel Hell" and "Princess Chaos (featuring Donna Lynch)" the new Angelspit hits really hard! This band is definitely an unique sonic experience while their artwork also deserves a special mention."
- Side-line.com

"For an album which basically extends its middle finger at the conventions of electro-industrial and EBM genres, Hideous and Perfect has amazingly strong production values and a clean style that balances out the raw, rough instrumentation and harsh lyrics. The result is a mix that will make your heart race and your fists clench, but won’t exhaust your ears with an oppressive blanket of distortion. On a good system (decent headphones work too, but not as well), you can hear even the tiniest synth patterns creeping in the background, even as you’re being bludgeoned with huge industrial riffs and sternum-stabbing bass."
- Fear.net

Hailed as being one of the most innovative new industrial bands Angelspit return with a new album Hideous and Perfect, a confronting audio visual statement set to corrupt listeners the world over.Hideous and Perfect promises to be Angelspit's darkest release to date with its sonic textures ranging from hard pounding beats, to organic atmospheric samples, topped off by a feverishly powerful male and female dual vocal assault. The duo's sonic exploration and creative process took them out of the studio, as they recorded much of the album's pounding industrial percussion at an abandoned shipping yard in Sydney Harbour. They fashioned and sampled handmade acoustic and electronic instruments, imparting a unique organic sonic texture to Hideous and Perfect, while also giving a nod to the experimental roots of industrial music.Hideous and Perfect is a vicious concoction of industrial guitar riffs, clever hooks and pathologically disturbed synths. Consisting of 12 harsh, heavy and deliberate tracks set to self destruct, Hideous and Perfect is challenging as it is catchy.

The cyber punk track Ditch the Rest opens the album, with its crunching malicious guitars and aggressive percussion setting the dynamic for the rest of the album. Cold Hard Cash follows combining deceptively sweet vocals with grinding rhythms and anarchic synth melodies. The tracks range from the hypnotic pounding analogue hell of Sleep Now, to the elegantly deranged Let Them Eat Distortion and to Fuck the Revolution's brutal and unforgettable rock and roll trip to insanity. Cinematically chilling instrumental tracks provide some respite from the album's intense mood. Zoog and Destroyx's turbulent vocal onslaught deals thematically with an apathetic cashed up society who are simply 'bored to death'. Angelspit's double edged lyrics can be poetically poignant, at other times witty, but are at all times severely potent.Angelspit's aesthetic concept is equally as iconic as their musical statement, as they continue to develop their fierce design and fashion aesthetic. Visually arresting photography and bold typography characterises the album's striking artwork making Hideous and Perfect a defining album of the industrial genre.

Track Listing:
01. Ditch The Rest - 3:51
02. Cold Hard Cash - 4:06
03. Fink - 3:44
04. Fuck The Revolution - 3:55
05. On Earth - 1:15
06. Making Money - 4:38
07. Sleep Now - 4:33
08. Channel Hell - 4:00
09. Let Them Eat Distortion - 3:36
10. Hyperlust (Feat. Synths by Agent13) - 4:20
11. Princess Chaos (Feat. Donna Lynch from Ego Likeness) - 3:35
12. As It Is In Heaven - 5:58

>> Purchasing Information
>> More Information
>> Listen to previews

Artwork Detail

View the photos of the Australian/European version here.

Australian/European Edition
3 gate fold wallet, 16 page booklet (exclusive design for Australia/Europe), 36cm x 36cm double sided poster.
>> Purchasing Info

Japanese Edition
Jewel case CD with 16 page booklet (exclusive design for Japan), Exclusive cover for Japan.
>> Purchasing Info
USA Edition
Jewel case CD with 16 page booklet (exclusive design for USA)
>> Purchasing Info